top of page
  • Writer's pictureAryaan Silva

Connecting to a Cerebral Palsy Patient

Updated: Apr 28, 2022

in grade 10, 2019-2020, through the same organization we were able to fund a wheelchair for a girl with cerebral palsy named Mui. At first me and my family helped treat her to dinner and made sure she had an amazing day with us. We wanted to really be able to talk to her and understand her issues and wanted to get a better understanding of what she went through.


We had gone swimming with her too as that was one of the only activities she could've done at the time and so we got her a new wheelchair as a gift, and because we had seen her old one was nearly used up and had holes in it. Her nurse helped explain to us that she lives in her wheelchair, and is the only way she can get around.


luckily she loved swimming and we enjoyed with her as we played games and made sure she felt comfortable and fun.


We also took her to a nice restaurant to give make sure she could enjoy some quality cooked food and something different from her everyday foods. We really made sure to include her in all our activities and me and her ended up drawing together. We also hired a van with wheelchair access to make sure that she would feel appreciated and seen, for her and not her disability.


We had a great day with her and it also taught me a lesson, to always be grateful for the things I have and that I don't normally appreciate. I feel like it opened my eyes, and I'm grateful that it did at the beginning of my high school career, because it taught me a great lesson both gratitude.

4 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page